2 Years of playing a seven string

• Thread starter AlexMg
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

AlexMg

Ibanez Maniac
Reaction score
first of all, im pretty new to guitar, im far from Guthrie Govan but i know my way around my own genre, i play something that can only be explained by combining Pantera, Sleep and periphery (Yeah thats kind of a weird combination). it must be my fourth? year playing. when i started and played my friends Epiphone Les Paul custom gothic it felt huge and bulky, i couldn't understand how he could play such a huge neck. i was playing SGR by Schecter C-1 at the time. when i first touched soon to be my Ibanez 7321 i instantly fell in love with the fast playing thin neck. after playing it for 2 years almost 2-3 (at least) every single day, with very few exceptions, i got used to it very much. now when i play anything that has relatively narrow neck, i make a fool of myself by failing miserably! i just cant seem to re-adapt to a six string anymore, my classical guitar has neck as wide as my ibby (almost) so thats not much of help either.
-what do you guys do to fight that ?
-how long have you been playing a seven string?
-how long have you been playing a six string before?
-do you have any troubles adjusting?
-recommend me a six string that wont feel like a mandolin compared to by Wizard II-7s
Just General thread comparing ERG to Standard Guitars

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

A-Branger

Reaction score
I can realte but in the bass world. I played 4 string for 3 years? then I got my five string and nevver went back. Never though to use my 4 string for alternate tunings (I could have learn some Mudvayne stuff)... didnt knew that was posible. Now I have 15 years (or so) playing only 5 strings.

yes, it feels weird to go back to a tinny neck on a 4