80's guitar

Dommak89

Reaction score
I'm still looking for THAT 6 string guitar that I like and I'm still on a hunt for good deals.

Lately I've been thinking about a (super-)strat from the 80s or early 90s. Jackson, Charvel, Kramer or Ibanez comes to mind here. Other brand suggestions are welcome, too. However, while I have some knowledge about Ibanezs I know nothing about the other brands.

So I'm basically looking for more information, really. What were good quality models (preferably Japanese) that one might be able to snatch for little money? What were good eras, and what were not so good ones?

An example to get a better picture would be that Charvel Predator.

As for the guitar itself I only have a few demands:
- Strat/Superstrat body
- At least one Humbucker
- Preferably 24 frets (not necessarily) and good neck access if possible (see Charvel Predator).

TL;DR I'm looking for an 80's/90's (super-) strat guitar.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

sniperfreak223

B.C. Rich loyalist
Reaction score
a neon green BC Rich Ironbird with OFR bridge, scalloped fretboard, reversed headstock and hot pink DiMarzio humbuckers. I'll try to dig it out sometime.

xiphos11

Reaction score
i just got a sweet superstrat in a trade!
its an early 80's jackson fat strat neck, its maple and got that vintage colouring to it. its on a charvel body, OFR, h - s - s

Jarmake

Frost Giant
Reaction score
Ibanez 5xx-7xx models, charvel model series (especially 4-6), kramers like nightswan, jackson professional series and so on. I can highly recommend any of those. Especially ibanez and charvel are good in my opinion.

s4tch

Reaction score
Besides of what's already been mentioned, the Peavey Vandenberg is a cool shredder, too.