About the Boss GT-10 and external distortion pedals

• Thread starter Drop-A
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Drop-A

Reaction score
Right, so I recently bought a Boss GT-10. I did some research before buying it and I heard some people say that the distortion models are not very good, that they're very digital sounding and thin. I thought they were just tone snobs and that I wouldn't hear the difference that much. Boy was I wrong. A pedal that comes with billions of different options, I thought I would at least find two or three sounds that I like (don't need more than that anyway), but to no avail.

So to my question. I have a Digitech Metal Master pedal with one setting that I enjoy very much, and has been my main distortion sound for the last couple of years (due to being a poor student and not being able to afford a proper sounding amp). Is it possible for me to put it in the loop of the GT-10 and make it sound good? Will I have the same amount of control as I would have over a built in distortion? I'm talking about assigning it to one of the footswitches, being able to move it around in the simulated effects chain etc. This distortion pedal would be the only thing in the loop.

TL;DR - Boss GT-10 distortion settings sucks and wonders how it would work having a dedicated distortion pedal in the effects loop.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Hybrid138

Reaction score
You want it in the FX loop of the GT-10 or the amp? If you meant can you have your digitech before or after the GT-10 in the loop, then yes you can. Sorry, if I'm misunderstanding.

Inazone

Reaction score
You want your distortion ahead of your effects in the signal chain, so you should probably run the Digitech in front of the Boss. I don't see any advantage to putting it in the effects loop.

Drop-A

Reaction score