Advice needed .Any car body repair experts on here ?

• Thread starter pondman
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

pondman

Build Whore.
Contributor
Reaction score
I accidentally reversed my truck into an Audi A3 on the plant nursery car park today.
I came clean and found out who the car belonged to, it was the young son of the nursery owner.
These are the pics of the damaged wing and deeply scratched hood.

021 by 020 by 019 by 018 by 017 by 016 by [url=https://

After I apologised the first thing he says is it needs a new wing and hood. I told him to get a quote and that no way does it need a new hood. It all looks repairable to me without any new parts but I'm no expert. Has anyone got any ideas on this and what the cost would probably be in the UK ?

Demiurge

Reaction score
From too many years in auto insurance claims I'd guess that both are repairable. Shops, at least here, can put a lot of hours onto a fender repair before replacing it is more economic. Given that it's a premium car, though, labor & paint rates from specialty shops might make the price higher.

Nobody likes insurance companies or dealing with them, but if the owner gives you a ridiculous estimate, maybe contact yours. Party-to-party settlement arrangements seldom go well because of the eventual sticker shock over the estimate, the cost of rental, or the possibility that the shop comes back with a "supplement" (additional work that is identified after the original work starts). Insurance appraisers might be able to negotiate with shops or have special rates at rental agencies- a little bit of 'clout' on your side.

pondman

Build Whore.
Contributor
Reaction score
Thanks ^ He got a quote for £1300 :holy:
I checked around and found it was a reasonable quote and paid up. This has cured my recent GAS :hber:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

_MonSTeR_

Reaction score