Agile Intrepid 828 ebony top stain

• Thread starter Jesse Zuretti
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Jesse Zuretti

Composer /// Guitar/Orchestra @Daath
Reaction score
In no shape or way am I a craftsman, a luthier, a wood-worker, etc. I have zero experience doing this kind of stuff, so bear with me! I decided to experiment on a cheap guitar, an Agile Intrepid Pro 828 (if I'm not mistaken) which I picked up for a mere $250 from a friend. Saw it as an opportunity to be a kid again and pretend to be something I'm clearly not!

Had a ton of fun, and can't wait to add the hardware to it! I'm also going to be adding Sperzel locking tuners, and Dimarzio D-Activators, so nothing fancy. I'll post more pics as I make progress on the upgrades! Thanks!

2012-03-30_14-59-20_242.jpg

540517_862166828938_33705960_36588057_778460052_n.jpg

538752_862164897808_33705960_36588049_626615487_n.jpg

2012-04-02_20-31-21_800.jpg

^ (the black mark behind the strap button was probably from the strap the previous owner was using - came off with little effort)

2012-04-02_20-31-49_246.jpg

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Jesse Zuretti

Reaction score
What did you use for the stain? DETAILS MATTER.

My feces.

JK.

My dad's feces.

JK.

Stewmac Ebony Stain. I KNOW, I KNOW. Shame on me! That's for leather and fretboards, amirite?

Edit note to master Luthiers whom read this thread: what can I expect to happen to this stain in a sweaty, live situation, in which heavy metal is played with fierce ferocity? What can I do to stop wear from happening? Any kind of post-finishing touches I can do to minimize loss of stain? Don't want to finish a set looking like a coal-miner (no offense to any coal-miner ss.org users). Thanks!

JaeSwift

Of Blood and Sawdust
Reaction score
My feces.

JK.

My dad's feces.

JK.