Allrighty, my signature Ibanez eight, the RM8!

• Thread starter Variant
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Variant

Banned
Reaction score
Well, since I already posted one of my mock-ups to another thread, I thought I'd finish the other three and make a dedicated thread. I, like many, are a bit underwhelmed by how mundane most of Ibanez' designs are, so despite not having a band/project/otherwise (but I am a mechanical designer :agreed:) here is my signature model eight-string, the Infinity 8. :shred:

It's basically an evolution of an earlier idealized seven-string design I did, fit to the new eight-string motif. The body shape is a bit like the archtop Sabre, but with a thicker (and slightly contoured) back (like a Brain Moore Custom), and longer, more RG-esque horns, accented with chamfer cuts. The thicker body adds a good bit more mass over an S, and rids it of that eyesore top-tilt jack. Construction is a 5-piece neck-through, with ash body wings, and a one-piece maple top (transparent finish or not, I like how it sharpens the tone)... and yes, the transparent models get AAA quilts on the fingerboard and headstock face to match! But no binding, bursts, fades, pickguards, rings, or other garish stuff... makes things look overdone, IMHO. :rant: In fact, the original design had no fingerboard inlays (I'm not a fan), but after experimenting with the off-sides ellipses, I found that it actually balanced the visual elements of the design without cluttering the fingerboard. :idea: