Alternate picking - exaggerating?

• Thread starter Skin Coffin
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Skin Coffin

Reaction score
Hey, I'm not really a beginner but I decided to post this here.
Anyway, I don't know if you're going to find this a stupid question, but.. is exaggerating in alternate picking a bad thing? Let me explain, every time I play some song or I learn something from a tab I always play it in alternate picking. The reason I'm asking is because in some vids I see the Pro's playing without alternating, they just hit the string(s) come back to the top and hit them again downwards.
So, is it bad or good?

vampiregenocide

Reaction score
So are you saying should you bother learning everything or alternate picking or only do it when needed?

Skin Coffin

Reaction score
So are you saying should you bother learning everything or alternate picking or only do it when needed?

what I'm asking is if it's bad to play parts, that usually ppl play normally (not alternate picking), with alternate picking. Like it sounds different or what.. cause to me is much easier, like a way to simplify the playability and to not tire my hand.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

vampiregenocide

Reaction score
what I'm asking is if it's bad to play parts, that usually ppl play normally (not alternate picking), with alternate picking. Like it sounds different or what.. cause to me is much easier, like a way to simplify the playability and to not tire my hand.

You get a better attack with downpicking, it sounds more solid. Its completely up to you. If it sounds good and feels comfortable, do what you want. If you think a part might benefit from downpicking then do that. I'm only just getting my alternate picking up to scratch, so I used to be a complete downpicker.

SirMyghin

The Dirt Guy
Contributor
Reaction score