Argh! Criteria for tuning? Coming from piano background...

Dusty Chalk

Reaction score
I'm a newb to guitars and I can't decide on a tuning. Are there any other piano players who moved to (or added on to) guitars? Is there a particular tuning you like? The main reason I went with a 7-string (as well as a NS/Stick) is for the range -- I keep wanting to play notes lower than the lowest note, so that additional string is exactly what I want. And I have sufficient musical theory background that I understand how to revoice chords for the guitar and I have no problem with that.

In fact, I'll probably ignore all advice given, keep experimenting, and settle on something on my own anyway. But I'd still like to hear from you if nothing else just to tell me "this is the best tuning evar!"

I'm just venting I guess. Grrr...argh! :wallbash: :realmad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Promit

Reaction score
To be honest, I'd recommend staying with a completely standard tuning for an extended period of time (months or more). It's tempting to put all the musical background to use and start toying with chords and stuff, but you should focus on the core mechanics of playing the guitar in a more traditional way first. Experimentation now will distract you from the actual problems at hand, so to speak.

yingmin

Parker über alles
Reaction score
It may help you to try a modified tuning that uses more thirds rather than fourths, so it's easier to find chords. Consider something like A - E - B - F# - A - C# - E. The bottom four strings are fifths, and the top three are alternating minor and major thirds, such that you have a major chord on string 1-3 and a minor chord on 2-4.

JohnIce

Singlecoil Enthusiast
Reaction score
Definitely try out perfect fourths tuning. I used it for a few months and it really made a ton of sense and made improvising easier (even though I've been improvising for 15 years in standard tuning).