Avenger 7 Multi-Scale Build

JStraitiff

Melodic Mamma Jamma
Reaction score
I have been toying with the idea of building a guitar for a while now. Oddly enough the thing that got me going the most was a 7 string telecaster.

This morning i was going to draw up a scale mockup and in the quest looking for cardboard to draw on i came across the perfect wood to use for it. I have an old waterbed frame that is just thick enough if i put a 1/4" top on it. It may not be the best wood to use but this is my first build so i wont be wasting expensive wood. I dont have any money for parts right now so im going to build the body and neck first then hopefully by then ill have enough for a truss rod and fretboard wood. Ill have to work as i can afford it so i apologize if it moves at a slow pace after these first few stages.

EDIT: i actually didnt realize how cheap truss rods are. Guess that wont be an issue :cool:

Now to the details:

7 String
Schecter Avenger body style (Unknown wood)
Regius headstock
3 piece set neck (unknown wood/maple)
Rosewood fretboard
Quilted Maple Top (Natural finish)
25.5" - 27.5" scale
EMG 707's
Probably Grover tuners
Graphtech nut

To start you off here are some pictures of my plan:

photo1byo.jpg

photo3vk.jpg

photo2mk.jpg

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

OrsusMetal

In brightest day...
Reaction score
Very cool! I probably wouldn't waste money adding a figured maple top to something that you don't know what the woods are in the body. I'd save that for a 2nd build when you have more experience and pick up some other woods to go with it.

ILuvPillows

Baby seal will destr
Reaction score
You've done it! You've found a headstock that actually fits the avenger shape. Schecter! SCHECTER COME AND SEE!

JaeSwift

Of Blood and Sawdust
Reaction score