Bands you kick yourself for not getting in to sooner.

• Thread starter Grand Moff Tim
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Grand Moff Tim

Some call me... Tim
Reaction score
That ever happen to you fellas?

And no, I don't mean you heard a band for the first time way after they became relevant and wished you had heard them sooner.

I mean you were fully aware of the band, probably had even heard of a few of their songs, for YEARS before you gave them a proper chance?

An example fo' y'all:

I was recently on a southern rock kick, being a long time fan of bands like Skynyrd and the Allman Brothers. When I looked up the genre online for other similar bands, one band that kept coming up was ZZ Top.

Obviously I've known about them since before I even started playing guitar (and I started playing in '95), but in my mind ZZ Top was famous for two things: Beards, and 80s synth-rock driven songs like this:

So I couldn't help but wonder wtf they were doing on so many "must have" lists for southern rock.

But then I actually checked them out for realsies, and gave a good listen to gems like this:

I mean come on. That shit fucking rules. Not only is Billy Gibbons a fucking master of blues rock guitar, but the rhythm section (Frank Beard and Dusty Hill) has that shit on lockdown.

As an added bonus, here's a ZZ Top song with some of the filthiest fuzz I've ever heard on a lead guitar, and a fan-made video that will make you hungry as fuck. You have been warned:

So what about you duders? Ever been surprised by a band you had always just kinda... dismissed? Wanted to punch yourself in the eyeballs once you caved?

Share.

Be verbose.

DO IT.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

gunch

digidun digidun wakka wakka skree
Reaction score