Basic chord practice

• Thread starter Greegzoid
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Greegzoid

Reaction score
Trying to learn the basics instead of dicking around with riffs yet when I try to play chords I get incredibly bored as ....!

What's a good general way to keep things fresh and help me progress further? Also any good song recommendations that would help me get to grips with chord changes? Feel like teh nubz here :(

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

murph71

Reaction score
I think the problem with song recommendations from other people is that you may not particularly like the piece you are trying to learn and you'll still be bored.

When I started learning, I loved listening to The Police and The Beatles and my mum bought me guitar books which taught you "how to play" their songs with all the relevant chord diagrams at the front of the books. The Police one was actually awesome as it was every song from their 5 albums and had the actual correct music written for the guitar and it wasn't long before I was doing some quite mad stretches to learn, for example, Message In A Bottle or some nice fancy exotic sounding chords. The Beatles stuff was mainly alot simpler to play in comparison and they have a plethora of music that you can strum along to using basic chord shapes.

So, basically, I was trying to learn what I liked listening to which held my interest and I guess pushed me along too. I would suggest you get either books or look up the chords for the songs you may want to learn online and try and learn stuff you actually like and also that's not too complex to begin with and just play along with the music on and be persistent in trying to keep up with the chord changes.