Bass project!!

Daemoniac

Rivethead Magnate.
Contributor
Reaction score
Ok, it's my first project, and i figure it will be a good starting point :)

No pics as yet, but i shall post some from my shitzor camera phone when i get it working again.

At the moment, its a J&D bass guitar, 4 string, average pups, but real nice sustain and resonance. Ima giving it a once over, sanding it down, taking everything out, replacing hardware, cleaning it up (the cavities for the pickups and underneath the tone knobs etc. are inexcusably coarse and messy) so hopefully i'll end up with an absolutely killer bass guitar, and some experience to get started on guitars!!
Pics up soon, whether its perfect, or an absolute disaster :D

Wish me luck!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

MaxOfMetal

Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Good luck man. Make sure to post plenty of before and after pics.

Daemoniac

Rivethead Magnate.
Contributor
Reaction score
Alright, ive taken it apart, removed all the hardware, and have begun sanding it down... i have also run out of sandpaper :( So i have to go buy more before i can continue lol.

I have some pics of before i started, before i took everything off, and before i started sanding. I will post when i get home/have time :)

Also, a question to anyone who has donethis before, do i sand it back to the wood finish? or just until its all matte and you can see that the top layer of laquer/finish is gone? Thanks!

MaxOfMetal

Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator
Reaction score
On a lower end bass it's fine to just sand to the primer/filler layer, as long as you still plan on putting an opaque finish. It really depends on if you want to re-prime/fill the body. Since this is your first I recommend just sanding down to the primer.

Daemoniac

Rivethead Magnate.
Contributor
Reaction score
Ok, awesome :)