Belated NGD - Matt Heafy Snøfall 6 string

RiksRiks

ERG Player Wannabe
Reaction score
I actually got this one about a eeek ago but didn't have the time to make an NGD post for it. I bought it as somewhat of a b-stock or floor model and costed about 600 USD (a bit less I think. The problem is that the phenolic fretboard actually turned yellow in some parts due to being exposed to the environment (my guess is that they had a piece of paper with the price covering the middle part of the fretboard and therefore preventing ONLY THAT PART from getting yellow), kinda defeats the purpose of having an all-white guitar I guess. But well, here's my review (I'm kinda new to this so take this as a first attempt). First here are the photos:

PDQhkZY
hLw1F7o
STVIcqd
Sq5FF9x
jnjbdlD
gDXytlC
U0eHbpP
MvakrNC

The guitar itself is pretty heavy, I'm kinda used to light guitars, i would say it's pretty much the same weight as my EC401 (both are mahogany so I'm guessing that's the reason). It's not super resonant, I don't know how many pieces is the body but I'm guessing it's more than 2.

I think Ikebe Gakki gave this a really good setup before shipping it as it was perfect out of the box. Frets are pretty even, the nut has to be one of the best cut nuts I've seen on this range of guitars, relief is pretty spot on. The knobs are OK, I don't usually care a lot of their shape or anything, so far they have been just OK.

I guess everybody knows how EMGs sound, I don't even know the exact model on these ones! But they do the job so I'm fine with them.

The tuners seem to have tool marks, I'm not even sure why. Also, tuning stability is good, given that right now Japan is pretty dang humid, but as soon as I make some mildly extreme bends the thing goes out of tune, I don't know if it could be related with the nut or something.