Best sub $400 Prime lense for Nikon DSLR

• Thread starter JmCastor
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JmCastor

Reaction score
Hey guys!

I'm pretty much a total beginner at photography. I'm currently in Hawaii so I figured i should take advantage of the beautiful Landscape.

I've been reading up on the benefits of prime lenses in particular for composition practice (forces you to be creative in some aspects) and consistency.

So my question is: What are is the best sub $400 prime lense for Nikon DSLR (5200) when taking pictures of primarily landscape and wildlife?

I definitely am looking for opinions and preferences based on experience.

ThePhilosopher

Reason User
Reaction score
Landscape and wildlife are going to require radically different focal lengths in general.
For landscape the 20, 24, or 28mm f/2.8 can be had used from reputable sites like KEH for well under budget (but I don't know if your camera has an AF motor so YMMV).

I don't know of any long(er) prime lenses in the Nikon lineup that can be had for under $400.

JmCastor

Reaction score
Landscape and wildlife are going to require radically different focal lengths in general.
For landscape the 20, 24, or 28mm f/2.8 can be had used from reputable sites like KEH for well under budget (but I don't know if your camera has an AF motor so YMMV).

I don't know of any long(er) prime lenses in the Nikon lineup that can be had for under $400.

Thanks for the response! Definitely misspoke on my end. Wildlife and Landscape are my goals but this Prime lens in particular will focus on Landscape (Beach/ocean views). I'm open to used lenses as well and I'd like to keep it around 400 but could go a bit higher if the lens was recommended enough to save for it.

The D5200 does not have an internal AF motor so I have to get a lens with its own.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Promit