Bjj warriors I need your wisdom

Nyx Erebos

Reaction score
I'm more a kick boxing kind of guy but recently I started training with some friends in bjj. And while my defensive skills are improving, I have a hard time on the offensive part. In kick boxing I can watch a technique and then practice it until I get the hang of it but in bjj it feels like setting up the right situation to use a technique is much harder. I think that it would be better for me to learn the levers of the human body I can use. So if you can share how to grab and twist some limbs or even better if you have link to a video, I'd be able to kick some azz.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

13la13la

Amateur Idiot
Contributor
Reaction score
I'm more a kick boxing kind of guy but recently I started training with some friends in bjj. And while my defensive skills are improving, I have a hard time on the offensive part. In kick boxing I can watch a technique and then practice it until I get the hang of it but in bjj it feels like setting up the right situation to use a technique is much harder. I think that it would be better for me to learn the levers of the human body I can use. So if you can share how to grab and twist some limbs or even better if you have link to a video, I'd be able to kick some azz.

In order to utilise BJJ you have to actually use BJJ techniques. As far as I understand it seem you are still using the kickboxing basis.
Immerse yourself with BJJ and kind of "Let go" the Kick boxing element.

A good way to understand levers and mechanics of the human body is immersion. I would slowly go over techniques with your friends. When you are improving your ground game go over the technique slowly until you understand how it works and then go from there.

Good luck, it's fun and a super efficient style!

kootenay

Reaction score