Can't pick amp head.

• Thread starter BC6x3
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

BC6x3

Reaction score
ok so I'm pissed about not being able to choose between these two heads
Randall v2h
Hughes & Kettner Switchblade

V2H pros: onboard 6 band graphic EQ, presence and density control, which is very good cause I'm a tone freak, sounds great, 400 watts so really loud, looks cool (always a good thing), trusted brand.
V2H cons: really heavy, I dont know how 400 watts would be in practice or smaller gigs.

Switchblade pros: several onboard editable effects, not as loud so good for practice and smaller gigs, sounds really good.
Switchblade cons: not as loud, lacks tone shaping controls, I've had no experience with hughes and kettner.

please keep in mind that I'm in a death metal band and need the absolute most badass tone. thanks.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

ColoSSuS

Reaction score
Hughes and Kettner are amazing, but probably not for what you're doing.
I don't know anything about Randalls.
Personally, I've been looking at gettin an ENGL 2x12 cab and using an EHX 44 Magnum power amp pedal and just using effects pedals for my tone shaping.
And you can never go wrong with a Triple Rectifier. Blackstar also makes some damn nice products for the price.

Oh and believe me, you DON'T want 400 Watts. In fact, you want as low a wattage you can get. With an all tube amp, you'll want to crank the volume so you can get the natural overdrive before having to use distortion controls. And really, an all tube amp, 100Watts is enough to play for a crowd of around 5,000

Albionic

First of the magi
Reaction score
switchblade is also fully midi switchable(i think the randall just channel switches i could be wrong) and comes with the pedal included in the price (are yoiu listening line6?) a big plus for me