Chriskanluthier - *First Fanned Fret Build!*

Reaction score
Hey there!

My name is Chris, I am from Montreal, Canada. I graduated from a luthery school in Quebec where I built 3 guitars (2 classicals and 1 acoustic). A year later, I decided to build myself my first electric guitar. My friend Oremus91 suggested me to show my work-in-progress in this thread/forum for any curious eyes to take a look and get some feedback from you! Here are my first steps into my work: neck and head angle, starting the fretboard and getting the body ready for more work to come.

Enjoy! and Merci! :)

The neck blank 3 piece flamed maple
wUeSnIe.jpg

Ebony fretboard
kGbTKNv.jpg

12 degree headstock angle cut
KUlQ83J.jpg

SvnRZ3u.jpg

j45X1yu.jpg

Flamed maple top + alder body
Rno3Crh.jpg

Last edited:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
This weekend, I progressed as much as I could. The fretboard has been slotted for the frets, I still have to sand the thickness down a little though. The top has been glued to the body and the neck is waiting for the headplate and it is all traced up to the final dimensions. Also some templated has been designed but not yet finished. A little detour to the shop will be needed to continue!

6DcHk9F.jpg

Qbhh2Lc.jpg

sKjc5iK.jpg

bbHbEbj.jpg

qJxJEa3.jpg

oremus91

Melodeth-er
Reaction score
The neck looks fantastic. I'm interested to see how the headstock turns out too, it looks like it might be a 2+4 to get straight string pull like an inverse JP6 sort of style layout.

Reaction score
It will be a 6 in line on the left side of the headstock. I don't mind that the strings aren't straight pull, many builders do it like that.

Reaction score