Comments on these blueprints?

• Thread starter DagMX
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

DagMX

Reaction score
EDIT: Minor update. Shape changed to be more like an RR. Tuner spaced out a bit more and routing shown in magenta.

guitarblueprints-2.png

Just drawing up some scaled blueprints of a guitar I plan to build if and when I get the time and space to do it.

What do you guys think?

Body: Alder
Finish: Black with red bevels
Neck: Thru-neck 3pc Maple 16" radius
Bridge: String through over TOM
Pickups: SD Blackout 7s standard sized
Fretboard: Maple with an inlay on the 12th fret.
Scale length: 27"
1 Volume and 1 tone pot. 1 3 way pickup selector.

I'm also thinking, and if its worth the money, to integrate a wireless system into it mainly because I don't trust devices hanging off my guitar when I'm moving around.

Everythings to scale(i think, unless I missed out on something...Im still new to using Rhino3d so I might have messed up a bit).

Hopefully in a few months I'll have some free time to try making it, otherwise I'll have tow ait till next year when I move to vancouver.

BTW, would the woods sound overly bright? I like the sound of alder for thrash and progressive and I already have an all alder guitar with maple fretboard and neck which I really like. But I'm not sure how the neck through would affect the sound since there would be a lot more maple

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Stitch

Banned
Reaction score
I take it you've been lusting after the Caparison Orbit with this model? :lol:

Looks good. MY only concern would be those machineheads - are you sure they aren't going to collide with each other if you have big fingers and are winding? Do you use a stringwinder? That may not fit as well. :scratch: