Correct way of holding a plectrum

WildWayz

Reaction score
Hi guys

I have been playing guitar on and off for the last urm 15 years and I recently started lessons again after a break of about 4 years.

Anyway, my new teacher picked up on the fact that the way I hold my pick isnt the 'correct' way of doing it.

I tend to hold it with the tip of my thumb and index finger with the point of the pick pointing towards the tip of my finger.

He said that I should hold it with my index finger curled around the back of my thumb with the pick point 90 degrees from the bottom of my thumb.

Is this the 'correct way'?

Does anyone have any photos of how they hold it?

Ta!

James

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Pirelli

Reaction score
The way your teacher is recommending is standard in my opinion, although I don't claim to be an expert.

If the way you're holding it works for you, don't change just for the sake of changing, but if you're having difficulty with some things, experimenting with different ways of holding the pick can't be bad.

Check out this short Paul Gilbert clip, he explains it pretty well, and it's always easier to see it performed rather than described.

YouTube - paul gilbert fast licks and teaches pick angle

Sorry, I'm not sure how to embed it, maybe someone else can help me out there. :wavey:

WildWayz

Reaction score
Thanks! Will check that out tonight when I get home :)

This is how you embed it:
(if HTML is enabled)

ooops looks like the forum is blocking HTML on the forums :)

JJ Rodriguez

Contributor
Reaction score
I imagine the way you were holding it might put some strain on your wrists if you were playing fast. If it worked for 15 years for you, and you didn't have any pains or other problems with your wrists, then there's no real point in changing, unless you find the "standard" more comfortable and easier to play with.

nitelightboy

I poop in shoes.
Contributor
Reaction score