DIY Kit: What would I need in order to be able to put this guitar together?

ACfireandiceDC

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been a guitarist for 7 years. I'm good at playing but I want more experience building/painting/finishing and such.

All the parts and screws are there, including the back plates and such. What would I need in order to be able to put this guitar together?
https://www.etsy.com/listing/176145...gn=music_mid&gclid=CK-J5prus70CFTMV7Aod_VwAjw

I'm thinking I will need a drill, a soddering iron, and stain/finish/etc.

Anything else?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Demiurge

Reaction score
In some of the close-ups, it looks like the body will need some fine-sanding prior to finishing. So, yeah, sandpaper, gloves, eye protection, and a mask to cover your mouth & nose (safety first).

It looks like a fun project, but at the price point you may be working against the quality of the parts to make it adequately playable.

Suho

Guitar Guardian
Contributor
Reaction score
The listing is inconsistent as fu(k. Mahogany neck and maple neck are both stated in different places, and it says the bridge is a fixed trem?

Hard to see if the neck is pre-drilled, so you may not need a drill. Probably just finishing/sanding materials, soldering iron, and a screw driver or two.

Syholl

Reaction score
The paint will probably cost more than the guitar....!!!

Once its finished hang it on the wall. Whatever you do. don't try and play it....

cardinal

Buys guitars, sometimes plays them
Reaction score
To the extent you need a drill, I'd think you'd need a drill press to ensure that any holes are drilled at the correct angle (eg, 90 degrees to the surface of the body). Doing any of that free hand with an electric hand drill will not work out well.