Does this sound right? (riffs n stuff) mix critique please :)

• Thread starter aolol
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

aolol

Reaction score
[SC]https://soundcloud.com/daouwu/riffs-n-stuff[/SC]

Would love to hear what you guys think about my new song. Is the mixing alright? anything that stands out? (be it positive or negative.)
Its meant to be pop-punk with vocals, but no vocals as of yet.

Thanks

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Furyof

Reaction score
It sounds pretty tight. The guitar work is really cool. Seems above pop/punk. But I don't listen to much of either of the genres. Nice little bass lines. Good work I can't really say too much besides that because I don't know what to listen for in the terms of what you are looking for. I am not an expert either. I am a noob too but I just thought I'd give my opinions

MarcusProg

Reaction score
The guitars are a tad bright. Beef them up with some low mids or lower the presence around 4k by a few dB. Awesome tune though, man :) Fun to listen to!

Clocks

Reaction score
Sounds decent man, I wouldn't say it's pop punk, but more pop metal its so technical aha! Regarding the mix, at some points the snare is really getting pushed aside, i can't work out whether its because of too much compression on the drums, or just mix as a whole. Also the overheads are pumping quite a bit.
I think you might need to make room in each instrument a bit more to allow each one to sit a bit better.

But good work so far dude :)

aolol

Reaction score