Ehow to program drums using Presonus Studio One

Cobhc221

Reaction score
iv'e had the program for little over a year now and i haven't the slightest clue on how to program drums.

im still new to the recording thing and i would like to eventually start recording at home rather than recroding at a studio

so anything would help.

PS Should i buy superior drummer 2.0 with the metal foundry?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Cobhc221

Reaction score
Just open a midi track in studio one and click the "Edit" window (bottom right) and then just program them on the grid. If you want to learn how to program on a grid then watch Bulbs tutorial on this very subject that he just released. You can watch that here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bge36qT8VpI&feature=youtu.be

i've seen that video. it was very helpful but, hes using a different program aha...but thanks tho!

fickfack09

Reaction score
He is using Cubase in that tutorial and I would highly suggest you do the same. If you have EZdrummer you could make use of the new programming feature in EZdrummer 2 (after the free upgrade of course). I love studio one but it doesn't even touch cubase in terms of drum programming ease.

Another option to help make things easier is to find Pitch Name Presets which will more or less label the keys in the midi editor. [Presets] Drum maps for Studio One

There are details on how to import those presets within the same thread.

This is all a matter of opinion of course. Just my two cents, so take it for what it's worth. Good luck!

Cobhc221

Reaction score
i see. he makes it look so easy cause the platform is easy to use.

i hardly use this audiobox anyways so do i just buy the cubase platform? or should i buy what hes using?

fickfack09

Reaction score
i see. he makes it look so easy cause the platform is easy to use.

i hardly use this audiobox anyways so do i just buy the cubase platform? or should i buy what hes using?