First 7-string, to floyd or not to floyd ?

shikamaru

Reaction score
Hi there,

I’ve been watching this forum for several months now but this is my first post. As the title says I’m about to get a 7-string but I’m not sure if I should go with a floyd or not.

Some background about me: I’ve been playing on an Ibanez ART-320 for 4 years now and I just love the Tune-o-matic bridge on it but at the same time I’ve always wanted a floyd. I stayed away from them because I was told they weren’t recommended on a low-end/mid-range guitar.

Right now I have the opportunity to get a Apex 2 which has a TOM bridge and I’m pretty sure it will be a great guitar to start in the 7-string world. I’ve been eyeing on the ibanez RG927QMZ on the internet for quite some time but I’m certainly not going to buy a guitar without testing it first and 7-string are nowhere to be found in music stores where I live…

I tried a 6-string ibby with the edge zero II bridge and from what I can tell it seems to be pretty stable with regards to tuning, but very stiff, so maybe the ZPS can mitigate the issues traditionally associated with floyds, even on a 7-string ?

So, here is my question: shall I satisfy my GAS with that Apex ?

If floyds on 7-string are not too much of a hassle I may be tempted to wait.

Of course there are other things about that one, since it’s got dimarzios pups and not ibz pups, mahogany body vs basswood, but no quilted maple top, and no floyd.

Also, shall I ask you in your answer to detail if you play on a fixed bridge or tremolo 7-string ?

Thanks in advance for your input.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Kreml

Reaction score
Floyds on 7-strings isnt really much of a hassle when you learn to set it up properly, but it takes some time to figure out how it works, but if you think its too much of a hassle to setup, you could just block the bridge, which still gives you the tuning stability the floyd offers