Fractal Axe-Fx II sounds like trash when recording harmony parts - why?

harmonicmean

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to recording direct with the Axe-Fx II Ultra and I'm getting terrible sounds for harmony-doubled guitars. They sound like a muddled harmonizer pedal. Here is a sample of two guitars panned 90/10 playing harmony parts:

https://soundcloud.com/harmonicmean/test-clip/s-vxbzb

I'm running my guitar straight into the Axe-FX II Ultra, which goes directly to a macbook pro via USB. My DAW is Reaper (I've also tried Cubase, but same problem). I've played around with my levels on the Axe-FX - no help.

I realize my tone and playing are not going to win any awards, but I've recorded parts like this in a studio (and at home) using a cab and mic and they didn't sound anything like this at all. What am I missing here?

Thanks.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

nikolazjalic

Reaction score
honestly sounds fine to me man, maybe hard panning will help with whatever problem you're having?

Spacestationfive

Reaction score
Okay, so here's an old trick that I used to do when producing my metalcore band which often had riffs with harmonies.

Double track everything, and whenever your guitars are playing two different notes or parts, quad track those parts specifically, keep them panned the same as your original doubled tracks and then slowly fade those additional quad tracks in to the mix until it starts to feel right.

This may work better some times than others, depending on your tone.

Another thing that may work is to send the guitars to a track with convolution reverb on it simulating a medium sized room (with a relatively short decay). Bringing a little mastering style reverb for your guitars may make them sound and feel more organic (ala practice room).

Disclaimer: I hope that my suggestions don't mislead you or waste your time! I do actually believe in this stuff

:lol:

Fretless

Knob Fiddler
Reaction score