Fret Buzz Issues? (Cheap China Guitar)

Reaction score
I have a cheap guitar from China I have been having issues with (I know, its cheap, its chinese, but I like it more than more expensive guitars I own and have owned for some reason). Its a no name Douglas, so its straight from the factory before Rondo Music gets ahold of it I guess. Anyways its like no matter what I do with action and the neck I am having fret buzz SOMEWHERE.When I got it the dude had the neck so straight that all my lower frets were just buzz city. Loved the low acion but it wasnt logical. The way I have it setup right now I am no longer getting buzz in my lower frets (1st through 5th) but now on my 17th fret and up I am getting buzz. I dont play on those frets really as I am just a lame rhythm guitarist but I am curious as what is going on here? The neck seems fine, better than Ibanez GIO necks I have seen by far but my action isnt that low. Is there too much relief in the neck now causing higher frets to buzz? Taking my guitar to a professional is not an option as there is no good luthiers around me.

Does this come down to just needing some frets filed because I know if I tighten that rod even a quarter of a turn my lower frets will start buzzing as they almost ALWAYS buzz a tiny tiny bit no matter what? I figure it is straight from the factory it doesnt even have the conductive paint in ANY of the cavities and the headstock was completely unfinshed when I got it. I can not take it to a professional as the only one around me made a few of my guitars even worse and didnt even touch my action and the other one is the dude I got this guitar from and his setups the necks are too straight and its buzz city.

Sorry for the book/essay and thank you to anyone willing to read my ramblings and give me some input.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

TonyFlyingSquirrel

Cherokee Warrior
Reaction score