Good DAW for a Beginner

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am looking to switch from Audacity to a DAW. But, I am kinda iffy about going with the likes of Reaper n all. Which one is the easiest to use in terms of customisation and learning curve?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. x

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

cwhitey2

BlackendCrust Metal™
Reaction score
Are you scared of Reapers price?

I have been using Reaper for like 10 years :lol: I'm still using version 3.something.something :cool:

trem licking

Reaction score
There's really no easy DAW other than maybe garageband, but that's mac only obviously. I recommend cakewalk by bandlab... Free and full featured.

mguilherme87

SouthShoreSeven
Reaction score
Reaper is great. Easy transition to it from Audacity, and once you've mastered it, it will be easy to go to ProTools or something similar in the future.

Descent

Reaction score
Try Tracktion - they usually provide one version back for free. Very straight up and linear app to use.
Mixcraft is popular with beginners. There's also N-Track with versions for Android as well and Songtree collaboration site built-in.
I am on Studio One right now and that has been working great for me.

Defyantly

Aspiring Builder
Reaction score
Try Tracktion - they usually provide one version back for free. Very straight up and linear app to use.
Mixcraft is popular with beginners. There's also N-Track with versions for Android as well and Songtree collaboration site built-in.
I am on Studio One right now and that has been working great for me.
I use Tracktion right now (their T7 version is the free one and waveform is there new flagship) and I love it! Super simple to use!

Reaction score
Why are you iffy on Reaper? It is a solid beginners choice. What kind of computer do you have and are you thinking about using a free DAW or do you want to pay money for one?