Guitarist trying to program drums

• Thread starter JoeChugs
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JoeChugs

Reaction score
Hey drummers/drum programmers. I'm a guitarist that wants to record and add drums to my demos, but I don't even know the basics when it comes to drumming. (nor am I good with time)

My question is, does anyone have a decent online/written resource for learning drums, specifically how to construct a rhythm.

Thanks in advance

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

gamber

Reaction score
hey there when i first started doing this stuff (i assume you have drum software) i was putting the snare on beats 2 and 4. then the cymbals were just eight notes and my kick drum would follow what my guitar was doing. And every couple bars or so when id change into a new riff or something like that id do a quick little fill

BillNephew

Reaction score
I'd say the best thing you can do is go on ultimate guitar and open up some guitar pro tabs to see how the drums are programmed as a reference for timing. Drum programming is something that comes with practice. Best of luck to you.

Chowman

Reaction score
I encountered similar problems when I first started programming my own drums, and I would say that practice is the key - start out simple, then as you become more comfortable you can begin to make the drum tracks more interesting with fills and decoration with the cymbals etc.

aturaya

Reaction score
If it isn't a blast beat, just make the kick do the same things as the guitar and put the snare on either 3, 2+4, or every beat depending on the tempo.

ZXIIIT

XIII
Reaction score
I just listened to the bands I like and payed close attention to their drumming, then while programming it, I would envision what a beat would go like (I have NO drumming experience at all either)

Check out some Guitar Pro tabs of songs and dissect the drumming too.