Headless Guitars?

• Thread starter NoodleFace
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

NoodleFace

Delicious Noodles
Reaction score
Hey guys. A little background on me first - I've been playing for 20 years (death metal). About 6 or 7 years ago I had to sell most of my gear off to fund getting my BS in Computer Engineering. Just recently I picked up a 6505+ and a couple guitars to get back into it.

One of the strangest things to me, a guy who dropped out of the guitar trade and really didn't look at all for several years, was the abundance and love for headless guitars.

I'm curious how that all started? What are the benefits?

My father has an old Steinberger from the 80's that we laugh about when he takes it out - yet now, these headless guitars are everywhere and there is a lot of love for them from people.

Just kind of curious how and when this happened, haha.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

stevexc

Reaction score
The right people advertising them in the right way, and other right people picking them up and endorsing them.

If it weren't for guys like Tosin and Misha getting on board with .stranberg* and singing the praises on headless ergonomics, I'm about 99% sure they'd still be just as much an obscure niche as they've been since the 80s.

But that's just how it goes with these things - someone visible starts endorsing the new style, and people start demanding it.

Hbett

Reaction score
There's been kind of a general surge (at least in the metal/prog/fusion communities) towards more ergonomic instruments. There are also more asymmetrical neck profiles, basses with twisted necks, fanned frets, etc. I definitely think endorsements have a lot to do with this, especially as someone who owns a .strandberg* and found out about them because of Chris Letchford.

Vittra

Reaction score