Help For Death Metal

• Thread starter bloodbrother
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey Guys i have a 7620 was looking for advice on what scales and other things alot of death metal bands use also have a questionon string gauge what should i use on the 7620 i have it tuned down a whole step to A. any help is appreciated, sorry if im in the wrong section this is my first time posting been a memeber for a long time

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

arktan

Icnomptenent
Reaction score
Hi there.

I have my Xiphos tuned down to ADGCFAD and use a 10-46 set with an extra 60 for the low A.

About the scales:

There is no typical "Death Metal Scale". Most bands use melodic minor scales or simple minor scales if they play melodic stuff and with technical bands you're going to find stuff like chromatic scales or diminished/augmented scales and so on.

Reaction score
Thanks Maybe Ill Check Out Some Diminished Scales going for a Necrophagist type sound for what im going to try and write

ittoa666

Being confused on SS.org since 2008
Reaction score
Diminished, diminished, diminished. And maybe some Phrygian.

the red rocket

Reaction score
phrygian dominant and harmonic minor, also look up oscilation cycles by ron jarzombek on youtube to see an explanation of how to apply chromaticism

CrushingAnvil

Ironically enough, now in Jesus Land
Reaction score
Diminished, diminished, diminished. And maybe some Phrygian.

Morbid Angel have pretty much never used the diminished scale...It has never been a big part of most death metal up until bands like Decapitated or Necrophagist.

There is no 'Death Metal Scale' or a scale that every death metal band has to use. The point of death metal is to use whatever interval or scale you want, even if it isn't in the same key as the song...look at Deicide.