hoping for some practice advice....

• Thread starter soldierkahn
  • Start date
  • Tags
    uite
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

soldierkahn

BAD MAMMA-JAMMA
Contributor
Reaction score
Upto this point Ive been a self-taught player who just plays for kicks, but am now getting bored of just playing the same old songs all the time. I would rate myself as maybe an intermediate level of playing but I want to keep advancing. Ive hit an obstacle that Im trying to find the best way around.

From what I understand, to get faster for leads and solos, you need to develop muscle memory for the scales you use most often. I totally get that im not going to be shredding for quite some time, I would just like to make sure that Im doing workouts that will actually benefit me rather than waste my time. Ive printed out Fretboard maps for myself, on one side is the fretboard map for a guitar tuned in standard (EADGBE), and then on the reverse is the same scale for Drop D (DADGBE). This way when I find out what key the piece is in, i can grab the map and set it in front of me while i noodle around underneath whats playing.

Here is where I am hitting my wall. Ill use a fairly common chord progression to illustrate below:

D - C - G - D, im thinking of Cant You See by Marshall Trucker Band as my example, which is in the key G. At first glance I thought itd be in the key of D since it starts and ends on D, but the D scale uses a C# instead of a C, leading us to G. With that key/scale in mind, i look to my fretboard map:

E|----|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|
B|--C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|
G|----|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|
D|----|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|---|-E-|---|F#-|-G-|---|-A-|---|-B-|-C-|---|-D-|