How do I save this abomination

• Thread starter Stephenar19
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Stephenar19

Reaction score
I'm still fairly new to home recording, I've been following a lot of tutorials and guides online to learn the basics of recording and mixing for the last 10 months or so, and some of the tracks I've made so far have turned out pretty good, and some....not so good. Specifically, I think I might have fallen into the trap of sinking all of my time into a dumpster fire, but I've been working on one particular track for way longer than I care to admit and used it as a sandbox to try out new plugins, automation, re-amping, different recording techniques, amp sims vs. my axe-fx, etc. For all the time I've put into it though, the end result is truly pretty awful.

The problem is, I don't actually know how to fix what makes it so bad. The guitars sound staticky and thin to me, the bass either sits completely unnoticeable, or becomes horribly intrusive if I raise the volume in the mix, and the drums all sound very disjointed. The composition is certainly weird - I was going for a sci-fi/horror video game soundtrack aesthetic - but the end result is something that sounds so far from a professional mix that I want to just throw it in the trash never to be seen again. Unfortunately though, it's part of a 4-part project that I'm working on (and the other 3 aren't too bad imo) so I'd really like to save it if I can.

I do think that part of the problem might just be poor guitar performance when tracking - but I think there's also a lot more to be corrected in it as well. To the more experienced folks out there - what really stands out to you and what would you focus on fixing?

Stephenar19

Reaction score
For context I'm doing all work in Reaper with almost entirely stock plugins (save for amp sims, submission audio bass, and EZDrummer)