How to paint/color a guitar?

ACfireandiceDC

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been a guitarist for six years, and I'm buying a DIY kit because it seems really cool. I want to add a lot of custom features to it.

Anyway, I don't know a lot about the finishing/painting aspect of guitars and I'm hoping someone can help. the guitar body and neck are raw, so when I get it, there will be no finish or anything.

I'm just wondering if there is a satin or gloss finish I could use on the guitar. I want to do this the correct way (if there is one or more ways to).

Can I prime the guitar and then spraypaint it? Because I'm really worried about the cost. I heard that the entire process may cost up to $600 and a "swirl" pattern (like Steve Vai's guitar) might cost $400.

Is there a cheap way to safely paint a guitar?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Njaton

Reaction score
I did one with spray paint just to see if i could. It turned out pretty good actually (I did a white back with a marbled silver top). You can get gloss and satin paints and local hardware stores. Just be sure to load up on clear coat, and good luck

ctgblue

finally got seven
Reaction score
there are tons of DIY guitar sites out there

what it always comes down to is, how smooth do you want the finish?

if a rough coat is okay, then 'rattle cans away'
you can do a surprisingly good job with 'paint' if you have a steady hand, let it dry right, and do a couple of 'super fine' polish passes between coats

if you want a mirror finish, it's a good spray gun and an ungodly amount of sanding, polishing, finishing

I just stain and tung oil mine, I like woodgrain the best anyway

Plus, I'm lazy and am not going to invest 40 hours of finish time to stain and clearcoat a guitar properly when I could buy a body from Warmoth for $400-500 already done if I was picky

good luck

here's my walnut strat, tung oiled
next build is a 3 hb tele, stained and oiled