How to shape "that" tone for recording?

symorian

Reaction score
Hi,

This is the first time ever I'm posting on this forum. I've been playing guitar for 4,5 years.

I've played in several live shows and in the studio. I could manage to get decent tones for a live performance just instinctively.
Now I'm focused more on recording my own stuff.
I've almost never used pedals with my setup except POD HD.

I have an Ibanez XPT700 6 sting with stock pickups of D-Activator.
I use POD HD300 via USB to PC.

Last week I decided to give up using cabinet part of POD HD300 and strated to use it as a pre-amp and shaping my tone with IRs + cab sims in my DAW.

My questions are as follows,

1) In a video where Tube Screamer VST is used, I saw that the instructor tells that the "tone knob" should be adjusted relative to the guitar being used. How one decide on this? Is there a rule or did he mean adjust it to your liking? What is it got to do with my pickups?

2) During recording, how do you start shaping your own tone other than the needs of the genre? Do you analyze the weaknesses of your guitar(i.e. weak on low end or too fizzy) and shape your tone accordingly OR do you shape your tone from your mind and then record and then post-edit it?

3) When doing a recording with two guitars, can the tones be completely irrelative (i.e. one is strong at higher freqs, one is stronger at low end) or should I keep them close to each other with subtle differences?

4) POD HD300's gate is fixed, so the fx cahin is. But, can I throw a gate VST into the armed track for a tighter sound? Would this be too artificial or is any trick welcome when it comes to getting the tone to our liking?

5) I have read and watched videos about several cab sims and IR loaders on the web. Which one is the most resource(CPU, RAM etc.) friendly, flexible and successful at getting the job done?