I want to build a guitar - Help please!

dreamer

Reaction score
Hey guys!

I've been thinking lately about building a guitar. This is not something I have ever done before, i've never really worked with wood before, but i'm more than willing to learn. I have access to most of the tools needed for this, so that's not really an issue, my biggest concerns are what items are typically needed to build a guitar. Specs would be:

7 String
Neck Through Construction
24 Frets
Multi Scale - 25.5" - 27"
Single Humbucker
1 volume knob (Maybe no volume, only "on/off" killswitch.

As far as actual hardware goes (Bridge, tuners, pots, switches, pickups, etc) I know exactly what I want, but what is a good, and fairly inexpensive wood to make this guitar out of? Something that will look great, and sound good, but not break the bank.

Any help or pointers on this build from you guys would be more than appreciated. Again, i've never done anything like this before, so give me anything you got!

Thank you!
-DJ

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

lorguitarist

Legions Of Raum
Reaction score
Just my :2c: but If you've never done a build yet and haven't really worked with wood before, then maybe a multi-scale 7 isn't where you wanna start. I myself am about to start my first build. I just bought some of the starting tools and supplies that I need that I didn't already have. I'm gonna start with a 6 string super strat made out of birch plywood. I've heard that's a good starter wood just to get the feel of things.....and it doesn't look too bad. I've worked with wood and tools before but never with a router, so I'm kinda excited to see what I can come up with.

Anyway, just my thoughts.

Good luck to you.

DistinguishedPapyrus

Reaction score
Dont be afraid to learn over and over what not to do... or at least what to do better next time. I just finished my first build a few weeks ago... after 3 years and 5 attempts.

dougk

Reaction score