Ibanez 7421 pickup swap - i need advice

• Thread starter Mckenzie_Cinematic
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey there everybody

im pretty new to this site and im new to modding or changing parts in my guitars.
I am looking for info on the new ibanez 7421 (2013 i presume) i need to know if theres anybody out there who could tell me if the bridge pickup is a 2 or 4 wire connection, im looking at swapping it out very soon (most likely for a BKP) and im not confident with pulling it apart myself just yet to check. so if theres anybody who has done a pickup swap for an rg7421 id like to hear about your experience doing this swap to get some ideas before i begin.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, any help you could give me is appreciated!

Cheers :metal:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Daf57

5 7s in 4ths
Reaction score
Most, if not all, humbuckers are going to be at least 4 wire I believe. Take the cavity cover off and you should be able to tell with out having to do anything but eye it. ;)

saxman42

Reaction score
Why are you concerned about if it's a two or four wire connection if you're replacing it? I'm a bit confused...

saxman42

Reaction score
Most, if not all, humbuckers are going to be at least 4 wire I believe. Take the cavity cover off and you should be able to tell with out having to do anything but eye it. ;)

It's a mix. Having the four wire leads just gives you the positive and negative leads of each coil. A two wire humbucker already has the positive of the first coil connected to the negative of the second coil to make the two coils in series to act as a humbucker.