Ibanez Premium RG827 7-string review and opinion

• Thread starter Tjore
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Tjore

Hipster Jesus
Reaction score
Here's my first shot at a guitar review, and here's my experience with the Premium RG827Z 7-string I got september of 2011.

The story
So basically, before I even heard about this guitar or the Ibanez Premium line, I seeked to find my very first 7-string. I had been playing 6-string for 9 years, and as my influences got wider, so did the need for a seventh string.
I spent half the year of 2011 finding the guitar with the right price and the right fit for me. With plans of maybe getting the Prestige 1527, and using tons of time and energy in saving for it, I found the Premium RG827Z on the german version of ebay, being sold by a company called ProMusicTools.

What striked me at first sight on the article were the offset dot inlays, which I love. I looked into it, and after reading a bit on it, and seeing the awesome price for being european at the same time. And so, I placed my order for it.

First experience
In probbably 1-2 weeks I think, it arrived to Norway in it's original "Premium" cardboard box. The guitar was inside a Premium softcase as seen on the picture that it came with. The smoothness of the case was amazing. It was also quite hard under the surface, and the material was quite reliable. It has two zippers and a zipline around it, so I opened the zippline, slowly opened the casing and I jizzed in my pants of joy. I spent probbably over ten minutes just looking at it. It was super shiny, the inlays were looking fucking amazing, and I was really impressed with the buildquality. I inspected it, no flaws or anything like that anywhere except one microscopic finish flaw at the edge of the back plate on the back of the guitar, which I didn't care about at all.