ISP noise Decimators

• Thread starter enuenu
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

enuenu

Reaction score
I know I want a noise gate. I have a Mesa 3 channel DR. My research so far seems to indicate ISP Decimators are the best. The question is whether to get the standard model or the more expensive G String model (which can be used in the loop)

Some of the technical advice on the differences between the two has me a bit confused as I have no experience in this area. I thought I would just buy the more expensive Decimator G String as I thought it would do exactly what the standard Decimator does PLUS some extra stuff. Thus in a worst case scenario (caused by lack of knowledge and experience in this tech stuff at purchase time) I would buy the G String version and not fully utilize its capabilities by just sticking it out in front of the amp. When I get to know how it all works a bit better I could use it in the lop as well.

However I have read a few comments that indicate that maybe the standard Decimator might actually work better than its more advanced G String brother in some circumstances, i.e. when I just want to quickly throw it out in front of the amp. I may also own other amps in the future. I sometimes swap amps with friends for a while, sometimes use an AC30 and sometimes even an old Roland JC60.

Which ISP Decimator should I buy? The extra $100 for the G String is neither here nor there for something I will use for years.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

juice_74

Reaction score
I had both and sold the G-string, I needed a gate out the front for feedback as opposed to in the loop to get rid of amp hum. Go with the regular, if you want get both and put the gstring in the loop. Which is pretty much the same thing as the pro rack g

Tapew0rm

Reaction score