Jobs in the music and instrument industry

Dommak89

Reaction score
Hi there,

I was wondering what kind of jobs there are in the music industry, if you earn your money in that branch of work and if you care to share some experience about work, application and "getting into the branch".

I'm currently working as an accountant for our R&D department, but was never really statisfied with the job. Don't get me wrong, I get paid pretty good and the social benefits of working for a big company are great (note I live in Germany). However, I'm still lacking the motivation to go to work. Yes, probably all of you have had the what I call "Monday experience", but I basically just look forward to the weekends. And I want to have at least a bit of fun or take pleasure in what I'm doing.
I have a bachelor's degree in International Management and I'm going to start my master's degree in business psychology.
I'm telling you this because I want to find a job in a branch or sector I like, but doing something that has some kind of relation to what I have been doing before, since I don't want to have wasted my time. Consumer behavior and consumer or market research have been the only interesting subjects during my bachelor's degree, so it's safe to say that I didn't even like my course of studies.

TL;DR Guy with business background wants to set foot in the music/instrument industry and asks for advice, opinion, and sharing experience.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Svava

Djento ergo sum
Reaction score
Google will explain these specific jobs better than me, but I know that with your background in management you might be a good ... well.. manager xD

Like booking agent/tour manager for a band/record label.

You could START a record label.

You could maybe manage in some capacity for Sweetwater or another big distributor and just sort of deal with instruments...