Just finished my first ever EP. (POD HD/Metal Machine)

breadtruck

Reaction score
Hey all. I just thought I'd post this here seeing as how I've enjoyed listening to a few other members' finished work that I found on this board. I just finished work on my first EP. If you have to put it in a genre then I guess it's....instrumental/metal/progressive. I'm a bit of a n00b when it comes to recording, so some of you may not like the mix, but the last couple of months I have been throwing together some songs and learning a lot about recording/mixing and such. It sounds okay to my ears at least. I'm still a total beginner, but I'm grateful to be able to create decent sounding songs. (Decent by my standards is anything that isn't recorded with an iPhone mic :) )

I used my lovely Ibanez RG7321 that I coincidentally bought from a member of this forum, tuned to B Standard. I used my POD HD Desktop to record the guitars, Broomstick Bass for the bass, Absynth 4 for the synths, and EZX Metal Machine for the drums. I was originally using the default EZdrummer kit, but some members on here inspired me to get Metal Machine. I know pretty much NOTHING about drum mixing/effects, so a lot of the drum sounds are just defaults. Thankfully Metal Machine still sounds decent right out of the box.

Anyway here's the link:
lewishay.bandcamp.com

Thanks for checking this out. I look forward to hearing more of people's recordings. The people who produce good sounding music from their bedroom are the people who inspire me to continue to get better and work on my mixing and songwriting skills. :agreed:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

VikingGuitar

Reaction score