Left hand technique opinions

• Thread starter Ibanezrg560
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Ibanezrg560

Dat boy
Reaction score
I've been wondering since i started playing about 3 years ago what the "proper" technique for the fretting hand is. I usually play rhythm and low strings with my thumb on the back of the neck and switch to thumb over the neck for leads. What confused me is seeing a video of Chris Broderick playing for megadeth and he had his thumb on the back of the neck constantly and his technique looks incredibly efficient to me. When i tried this though, my wrist would always come into an odd angle and it was uncomfortable, so i stopped for fear of injury :ugh:. I eventually want to play 7 or 8 string and it seems like fretting hand technique is alot more important than on a 6.

Please give your insight on what you think is right!
thanks in advance, sorry if this has already been mentioned, i searched it and couldn't find anything.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

FarBeyondMetal

Reaction score
Chris Broderick has impeccable technique...anything that man does is done for a reason. I was taught to play guitar with my thumb placed on the middle to lower (closer to the floor) of the neck when playing lead. This has always worked for me and has grown to be very comfortable. I like this technique because it allows your fingers to be at the right angle for fretting notes. This especially works for me since I have smaller hands:mad:
But on the flip side, Buckethead plays a lotta the time with his thumb hooked over the neck, since he has ginormous hands!:shred:
When it comes time to bend strings, there are times when I hook my hand over the top of th neck to really get leverage and shake the shit outta the vibrato.