Live setup-EQ'ing questions.

• Thread starter Chaplin
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Chaplin

DKBT
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I guess I'll start off by introducing myself since this is my first post =P. My name is Ryan, I've been playing guitar for about 6 years now and in the past year and a half or so I've been in gigging bands.
I'm into hardcore, metal, some deathcore, and a lot of djent <3.
My amps that I have are:
Marshall mg100hdfx halfstack
Crate Blue Voodoo 120h (Old blue head)
Epiphone 4x12 Trigger Cab

I play through them with my Schecter c-1 Hellraiser, but soon I'm trading that for an Ibanez ARZ307.

On June 3rd my band is playing a show with Lionheart, and I've been having trouble figuring out how to EQ mine and the rhythm guitarist's amp to compliment eachother well. Along with the bass amp of course. We're using 7 strings, and we have a hardcore/metalcore sort of sound, with some djenty aspects incorporated.

We're a 6 piece band, with 2 guitarists, 1 bassist, 1 vocalist, 1 drummer, and a synth/keyboardist guy.

My question is, how would I get the best results setting up my amp with the other guitarists amp for something that is heavy but still needs its clarity for small lead passages and chords?
He is running through a 100w valve king I believe. Live, I will probably be using the mg100hdfx halfstack.

TL;DR How do I set up 2 guitar amps and a bass amp to compliment each other well in a live setting?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Ghost40

Dude
Contributor
Reaction score
IMO this s how I EQ: