Looking for a challenge!

• Thread starter ChronicConsumer
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

ChronicConsumer

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So allow me to tell you where exactly I am right now. I started playing the guitar five years ago but only seriously started practicing songs with 'perfect' technique (picking hand is doing excellent, fretting hand needs some more muscle for smoother/clearer legato but stretches are effortless and without tension) about a year ago, and I have improved lots. I know my theory pretty well, there's definitely a lot of theory still left to learn but I'm going to learn a lot of that all next year at university.

Today, I learnt the first minute of Paul Gilbert's Bach partita in D minor and I have to say, it's going better than expected. I'm not gonna say I mastered everything so far, but I've got it down pretty smoothly already. Feels good! :cool:

I would, however, say this is at least one of the most difficult pieces I can play so far, and considering the ease at which I learnt this piece I'd love to learn some more songs (metal, rock, classical, jazz, progressive - whatever you like) that are equally difficult, or slightly easier/harder.

Are there any songs that you found challenging that you recently got down? I'd love to hear some of your suggestions, or maybe just what you are working on right now. Summer holiday's coming up and I intend to learn as much as possible :)

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Nyrrth

Reaction score