Looking for feedback on my composition

• Thread starter Nyrrth
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Nyrrth

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm just getting into the "DIY" musician thing where I'm writing and performing (and programming) all parts. This one is my first real attempt, so I'd love your feedback on the composition, and as a listener what you think works well, what might be missing, etc. Bonus points if you can critique the mix :cool:

https://soundcloud.com/xxporcupinextreexx/sir-alexander-platypus-2-0

Thanks! :hbang:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

tyler_faith_08

Strings of Chaos
Reaction score
Listening now

Some of the bass drum parts are machine gunning

the guitar part at :30-35 feels weird to me.

1:05 awesome

1:12 ish =more awesome

Can't really hear the cymbal work in this area

Snare sounds fake

2:20 = tits

The background thing at 2:50 or so sounds boomy

Drum at 3:20 or so sounds like it's clipping

Don't like the machine gun parts with it either

The pitched instruments are ....ing sweet

4:53 sounds like more is coming then gives you a nice FU!

I like the way it ended, though

It's over, but only 2 things stand out in my mind: machine gun bass and unclear cymbal work in a few places. I really, really liked it. This is one of my more favorite pieces from a non-profesional. I'd like to write with you if you ever need an internet writing buddy lol

Nyrrth

Reaction score
I really, really liked it. This is one of my more favorite pieces from a non-profesional. I'd like to write with you if you ever need an internet writing buddy lol

Wow, dude! Thanks for the kind words. Very encouraging. I'll keep plugging away and getting better.