Martial Arts

• Thread starter theo
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

theo

Got Hype(machine)?
Reaction score
Saw some other threads on the topic, but they haven't been posted in for 5 - 6 years. Thought I would start afresh rather than necro-bumping.

I've been doing freestyle karate for about 3 years now and I've just graded to my 5th Kyu. Loving martial arts as much as ever, I'd love to talk to some fellow sso'ers who also practice!

The style I do is termed "freestyle karate", but we take almost as much influence from Kung Fu as we do Karate. We're a smallish club with probably 30 - 40 adult members, although there are LOADS of kids.

I'm looking at starting tournaments this year for Katas and Point sparring.

ShadyDavey

7ibrarian
Reaction score
I've done loads over the years but haven't done any for a substantial period of time.

Starting in about 1988 (excluding the Judo I took for 3 years when I was a LOT younger) I've studied (to one extent or another) Taekwon Do, a couple of styles of Kung-Fu (Lau Gar, Wing Chun, 7 Star Praying Mantis, Northen Shaolin), Muay Thai, Systema, and Karate (Freestyle/Wado Ryu).

Only today I managed to catch up with a friend I've not seen in 5 years and he dropped off a whole bag full of Arnis/Escrima literature which I'll probably pick up when I have more time/opportunity to travel to classes. He's studying under a 1st Generation Master of the Lightning Arnis Grandmaster so it's quite a pleasing opportunity to be able to see the lineage in close focus.

theo

Got Hype(machine)?
Reaction score
Wow that's awesome! I personally haven't done a lot of weapon training. My club restricts dedicated weapons classes to 4th Kyu and above. Although I have done a little Bo work.

I'm interested in starting Kama for XMA katas at some point.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

ShadyDavey

7ibrarian
Reaction score