Metal players who dont use a noise gate?

• Thread starter Georgeclooney5150
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Georgeclooney5150

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Besides John pettruci is there anyone else?
Ever since I started playing metal I was advice to always have a gate on because of the noise produce by high gain amps but recently I started turning off the gate, and bring down the threshold on the noise gate quite low on some noisy amps, and also turn down the gain on the amp.
I like how the guitar responds to my playing and im having more fun. feels like playing for the first time all over again. You also get a different tone, might minimal, but its there. Idk why I kept the gate on all the time, and threshold at noon or sometimes past noon.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JSKrev

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I didn't until a couple years ago. If you're judicious with the gain and don't need those rapid stop/starts, you're usually fine without one. There are those situations where feedback becomes unwieldy, so it's helpful to have it on the board.

Rev2010

Contributor
Reaction score
If you like the sound of noise, go gate-free. If you prefer silence when you stop playing and love the sound of a nice quick riff/stop/play/stop without all that shitty noise in between then use a gate.

Honestly it's silly, sounds more like you're just trying to convince yourself you don't need to spend a few hundred for a good gate. A good gate will NOT suck tone. I use the ISP Decimator II G-String and it's amazing. I much much prefer it on then off. To each their own.

SalsaWood

Scares the 'choes.
Reaction score