Mike Portnoy Hate?!

Carrion

Et tu, Brute?
Reaction score
Now before I begin, I am no drummer and I am only a guitarist.

I noticed on a lot of Youtube videos a lot of hate directed towards Mike Portnoy. It seems it's a lot of elitists posting comments like "Shut the fuck up, you don't know anything, (______) drummer (Usually Neil Peart or Buddy Rich) is better. Now in my eyes Portnoy seems like a pretty good drummer but I am no drummer. I see a lot of people complaining about his dynamics and that's why _____ drummer is better.

Now SS.org, am I missing something or is this just general Youtube idiocracy/elitism?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

sakeido

Contributor
Reaction score
Don't read youtube comments. They are idiots - Portnoy is great

distressed_romeo

F'king ............
Forum MVP
Reaction score
I know some people think he overplays, but I always enjoy listening to him. I'd ignore Youtube comments; they're invariably retarded.

Thomas

Stranger
Reaction score
I can't think of the last time I saw anything on YouTube that was worth reading. The intellectual level of the comments is so low it could make my eyes bleed.

Groff

Medicine Chief/RHLC©
Contributor
Reaction score
I'd ignore Youtube comments; they're invariably retarded.

You tube posters are the bane of existence.

Portnoy is a very talented and unique drummer. Some compare him to Neil Pert, but they play completely diffrent. I think they get compared because of their status' in the prog rock world. Portnoy seems to be more articulate than Pert. And plus Pert is a complete BORE to watch play, as good as he is. No facial expressions EVER. I tried watching Pert's 3+ hour drum video 'A work in progress' and was falling asleep standing up! Great drummer, no flair.