Must Have DVDs and Books

Adil-2552

Reaction score
Hi there,

I've been playing for a little over 3 years, and am primarily self-taught.
Of course, I attended the odd lesson for my first year and soon decided to teach myself using a variety of resources (mainly magazines and friends with playing experience).
All in all, I'd say I'm a fairly well-rounded guitarist. However, I'm not quite satisfied with my playing. I know very little theory, and often find myself in stuck in a rut, my fingers fall into the same positions and I begin to play the same repetitive crap.
I've decided it's time to reevaluate and hone my playing.

I want to learn all the essential theory from scratch (chords, scales, modes, intervals etc), as well as a bunch of techniques.
I ultimately want to understand the relationship between all of the above so I can facilitate the ideas I get. I'm sick of having to guess what note should come next, or even where to find that note without glaring at the fretboard for 30 seconds.

So far people have suggested:
#Various Frank Gambale DVDs
#Metal Method Complete Basic Course
#John Petrucci Rock Discipline
#Doug Doppler 411
#Paul Gilbert DVDs
#Rusty Cooley Fretboard autopsy

What would you recommend? What do you swear by?

Thank you:)

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Xiphos68

Reaction score
John Petrucci Rock Discipline is good for technique and any Paul Gilbert DVD.

ShadyDavey

7ibrarian
Reaction score
I couldn't really add much to the list you've got - those would certainly be my recommendations for the criteria you've listed :)

For more legato playing - anything by Derryl Gabel or Derek Taylor

Tapping - Jennifer Batten, Dave Celentano, parts of Creative Guitar 2

Theory - tricky IMO. There aren't a huge amount of theory books (I'm sure Mike will list a couple that I've forgotten) so I'll go with Tom Kolb and Keith Wyatt (I forget the titles but those are the authors) as fairly comprehensive.