Narrowed my choices for my custom 8 to Sherman, Oni, or Artinger

keeper006

SWEET BERRY WINE!
Reaction score
I've been researching luthiers to build my custom 8 for a few months now, and I've cut it down to Sherman (I love what I've seen, but he hasn't replied to 2 emails yet), Oni (He's replied, but is sick, so we haven't discussed details yet), and today I received a very nice reply with a comparable price quote from Matt Artinger, who is building Chris Letchford's new 8. Thanks for posting that, Chris- that's how I found him.
I don't know if Sherman might be too busy, as I read another post where someone said he was building them 5 guitars (5?!! WTF do you do for a living?) but as I am just a zookeeper with 3 kids, this isn't something immediate anyway. I'm tring to get a good idea of what I'll need so I have the total by the time it's done (but it'll be easier in a few months when support payments to the 1st wife end- YEAH!) But I have a real crush on the 1 PUP burst 8 Mike's holding in the pic.

I also like what I've seen from Dan and his ONIs, but I need more info. He sent me a reply to my inquiry that he currently has the flu and will get me a detailed response soon. I like the unique look, but I don't know about the limitation of choices. Not that I need a lot, but it's nice to know when you're making this type of investment. I also don't know about shipping to the US, but I'm sure he'll cover that when I hear back from him.