Narrowing down my first 7 string. Looking for feedback

causeunknown

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm looking to buy my first 7 string. I've only ever owned two guitars (both Ibanez. I've been playing a Ibanez Prestige RG652AHMFX for the last 4 years I think), so I wouldn't consider myself an expert on gear. I thought i'd come here and ask for some feedback on the guitars i'm considering. The only specific requirement of mine is that it's a fixed bridge and that's upwards of ~$2,000. Something capable of a drop A tuning is also ideal. Based on this criteria i've narrowed it down to these choices so far-
Not sure if this is the best place to post, but i'm really interested in picking up something and couldn't think of a better place to get some help in making the choice. I know a lot of it is personal preference, but i'd like to try to make an informed decision as someone who just doesn't have a lot of experience with gear. I really appreciate your consideration. Thanks!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

c7spheres

GuitArtist
Reaction score
They will all do the job. They all are good price for a brand new guitar though the Ibanez's seem a bit high in price it's because of the wood and features.
- I have to say it though, the obligatory SSo_Org mantra. I'd rather get a used Ibanez Prestige : ) . Seriously, you can save a lot of money that way and get an instrument that is on or above the level of some of those you listed.
- If I had to pick on of the above guitar you listed I like the Rgr752AHBF the best of those listed.
- To save money and have a proven bad ass workhorse guitar maybe consider an Rg7621. Don't worry that they're so old. If you find the right one it will be better with age. You can customize it and make it perfect. Just make sure you have a return option if you don't like it. Here's some examples. As long as there's nothing wrong with them they proabably play and sound just as good.