Need help for Bareknuckle pickups in RGA321F

• Thread starter rockstarazuri
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

rockstarazuri

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm looking to replace the stock Dimarzio IBZ pickups in my RGA321F, and I'm a newbie when it comes to Bareknuckles. Which of the pickups complement the guitar best? RGA321Fs are fairly bright guitars.

Here's what I'm looking for :

1) I'm looking for a set that sounds good for progressive metal, djent, jazz fusion etc. I like the sound of the pickups now, coupled with the maple+mahogany body it sounds clear and articulate (notes ring out nicely when playing songs like Periphery's Scarlet), but they don't seem to have 'punch' in them. I'd like to keep the articulate tone of it now but with added punch and midrange I guess.

2) I like the Crunchlab + Liquifire kind of tone in my RG1527M and S5470, but for this guitar I want to try something different :) maybe something with a bit more clarity and less compressed tone?

3) I had Deactivators in an old mahogany Ibanez 7 and it was overly shrill and bright. It was good for cleans but I hated it for distorted tones. I prefer not to have something that sounds like or close to that.

4) Perhaps this is asking too much, but something with a medium high output that sounds good clean with the volume rolled back would be a plus too.

Also, will the covered version of the pickups fit in the guitar without routing? What leg length should I look out for? The Crunchlab in my RG1527M is a bit too close to the strings to my liking even after lowering it all the way down.

Help would be much appreciated :) thanks!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

SamSam

GAS problems
Reaction score
I'm considering the Rebel Yell/ VHII combo for my RGA121. I've heard great comments about them in similar guitars.